The Last Book in the Imperial Hammer series is now out

The last book in a series is always difficult to write, in one respect, because there is a lot of wrapping up to do. Plus the story has to be, well, worth the effort of reading all the books that led up to it.

​And the same time, the last book in a series is also easy to write, because all the characters in the series are so well known to me, that I barely have to think about how they react, how they speak, and what they might do in any situation.

​For this book, Destroyer of Worlds, the greatest challenge was dealing with the rather large cast I’d created throughout the series. And I had to come up with a suitable wrap up for the Array, too.

​I’m pretty sure I nailed all of it, because there is a part of me that wants to go back and re-read the book. That’s usually a sign I’ve done a decent job on telling the story. And yes, I re-read my stories now and again…of course I do! If I didn’t like reading my own stories, then I shouldn’t be writing them. As it happens, though, I am my first reader, and I love being able to pick up a book I haven’t touched in a while, when it’s nice and cold, and re-reading it. Such fun!

​Anyway, Destroyer of Worlds is released today on all bookstores everywhere. It has already been out on my publisher site for a week, too.

The Empire is crumbling and humanity is on its knees.

The petulant, self-aware Array has retaliated. It has destroyed a space station, home to a million people, and stranded Danny and her crew on the surface of the tidally locked Nijeliya II. They must scratch for survival as best they can.

While Danny works to save the city and her people, her fury over the Array’s murder of her friends and loved ones stews deep inside. She will have her revenge, no matter what the cost.

Only Nijeliya is a red star and notorious for throwing out superflares that can threaten the life of everything living thing. Time is running out, not just for Danny and her crew, but for everyone in the galaxy.

Destroyer of Worlds is the fifth and final book in the Imperial Hammer space opera science fiction series by award-winning SF author Cameron Cooper.

The Imperial Hammer series:
1.0: Hammer and Crucible
1.1: An Average Night on Androkles
2.0: Star Forge
3.0: Long Live the Emperor
4.0: Severed
5.0: Destroyer of Worlds

Space Opera Science Fiction Novel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top